Feds Give Illinois More Time to Assess Flood Damage

Jul 31, 2019

The federal government is giving Illinois officials more time to assess the damage caused by the spring and summer flooding.

Governor J-B Pritzker says it's a time-consuming process that needs to be done right.

Governor Pritzker has declared 36 Illinois counties to be state disaster areas, including Jackson, Union, Alexander and Randolph Counties in southern Illinois.

FEMA and IEMA began reviewing flood and storm-related costs with local government officials in 30 counties on July 29.  The teams will begin assessing damage to homes and businesses around August 12.

The state now has until September 3 to compile all the data needed to make a strong case for federal assistance.