Play Live Radio
Next Up:
Available On Air Stations
State of Illinois
WSIU's News Team brings you previews and ongoing coverage of the 2015 Illinois Municipal Elections.00000179-2466-d250-a579-e46f49960001

Southern Illinois Regional Races


In the 59th State Senate Race, Democrat Gary Forby has been declared the winner over his primary challenger Fred Kondritz.  Incumbent democrat Gary Forby with 78% of the vote easily defeated his primary challenger Fred Kondritz for the nomination. On the republican side of the ticket Mark Minor and Ken Burzynski ran a close race trading counties all evening long. Burzynski carried Williamson, Union, and Jackson Counties… while Minor held on in Franklin, Saline, and Alexander Counties to defeat Burzynski 55% to 45%. Minor advances to the November election against Gary Forby.

In Franklin County, Nancy Hobbs won a three way race for the democratic nomination for Circuit Clerk.  Hobbs garnered 49% of the vote defeating John Gardner Jr and Lisa Kay Muir. Ken Hungate won the democratic primary race for County Board.  He received 28% of the vote over Alan Price, William Stark, and David Rea.

In Jackson County voter turnout was only 16% as just under 64-hundred votes were cast out of nearly 39-thousand registered voters. In the Democratic race for States Attorney, Mike Carr easily defeated challenger Matt Chancey 82% to 18%.  Carr is currently unopposed in the general election. And in the Republican County Board race in District 2 Dan Bost lead with 55% of the vote followed by Jackie Norton with 25%.  Brian Crowell finished third with 20%.  Bost and Norton will advance to the general election.

Despite a low turnout, Williamson County voters have made their choices for candidates they want to see on the November ballot. In the County Board race, Jim Marlo carried a slim lead over Phil Jeralds to become the Republican who will challenge incumbent Democrat Tracey Glenn in the fall. Meanwhile in the race for Judge, Democrat Andrea McNeill carried Williamson County over Mark Kochan, and will go on to face Republican Carolyn Smoot in November.  These votes are preliminary, as County Clerk Saundra Jent says some absentee ballots may still come in and her office will have to certify the vote over the next two weeks.

In Johnson County, Republican States Attorney candidate Tambra Cain defeated her primary challenger Ted Hampson 59% to 40%.  Cain will face democrat Tricia Turner Shelton in the General Election. In the republican county commissioner race Ernie Henshaw won with 39% of the vote.  He defeated Glenn Brown, Judith Murray and Roy Street. Johnson County voters approved a public safety tax with 57% of those voting in favor of a half-percent sales tax to help provide funding for emergency ambulance service to Johnson County residents.

In Randolph County voters decided two contested county-wide races. In the democratic primary for circuit clerk Sherry Johnson defeated Vicki Weber... 62% to 38%.   Johnson will face republican Kevin Wilson in the November Circuit Clerk's race.  Wilson defeated his primary challenger James Odom 74% to 26%. In the Democratic race for states attorney... Jeremy Walker defeated Randall Rodewald 62% to 38%.  Walker will face republican David Friess in the General election.