Williamson Co. Added to Disaster Proclamation for Safe Communities

Jun 3, 2020

Governor J-B Pritzker is adding Williamson County to the existing disaster proclamation to help keep communities safe. 

A news release from the governor's office says Williamson is one of five new counties included because these areas represent a threat for looting or destruction through planned protests, are home to critical infrastructure, or they have requested state assistance or resources.  To date, 15 counties are included in the current disaster proclamation.

National Guard soldiers in Mt. Vernon and five other locations have been activated to await instructions from the Illinois State Police to help meet the needs of local communities. 

In addition to the Illinois National Guard, personnel from the Illinois State Police, the Illinois Emergency Management Agency and various mutual aid networks are aiding the requests of local governments.