Kentucky Requests FEMA Assessments for Flooding in Western Counties

Aug 2, 2016
Originally published on August 1, 2016 3:55 pm

More than 20 counties across Kentucky, including more than a dozen in our listening area are seeking disaster relief in the wake of severe flooding. 

The state has requested preliminary damage assessment with the Federal Emergency Management Agency (FEMA) for the following counties:

  • Adair
  • Butler
  • Caldwell
  • Calloway
  • Christian
  • Clay
  • Crittenden
  • Daviess
  • Edmonson
  • Hart
  • Hopkins
  • Lawrence
  • Livingston
  • Lyon
  • Marshall
  • McCracken
  • McLean
  • Metcalfe
  • Ohio
  • Todd
  • Trigg
  • Union
  • Webster

The assessment is for a series of storms that began July 3 and continued through July 9. Many of the storms were severe with torrential rain, wind and hail. 

The Commonwealth also requested joint assessments for households and individual assistance for flooding in Marshall and Todd Counties.

FEMA will be sending personnel to Kentucky to begin joint assessments with Kentucky Emergency Management (KYEM). There are no shared costs to the state to conduct joint assessments.

Copyright 2016 WKMS-FM. To see more, visit WKMS-FM.