Area Fireworks on Hold

Jun 29, 2012

Hot, dry weather has now led some towns to call off holiday fireworks.

Carbondale, Murphysboro and Harrisburg have canceled their Fourth of July shows. Residents are urged to contact their local authorities before setting off their own fireworks. Burn bans are in place throughout the region. In southern Illinois burn bans include Alexander, Franklin, Gallatin, Hamilton,  Jackson, Perry, Pope, Pulaski, Saline, Union, and Williamson counties. In southeast Missouri, burn bans are in place for Bollinger, Cape Girardeau, New Madrid and Scott counties. And in southwest Indiana, burn bans impact Gibson, Posey and Vanderburgh counties.