Numerous Primary Challenges in Southern Illinois Races

Dec 4, 2017

Many local incumbents will face a primary challenge in next year’s elections.

The official ballot won’t be ready for several more weeks – but as candidates threw their hats into the ring before the deadline Monday, lots of new names have been added to the list.

In Congressional races, Incumbent Republican Mike Bost faces a challenge from Preston Nelson of Benton. Three Democrats are also hoping to unseat him. Republican John Shimkus is so far unopposed in the primary, but two Democrats are seeking their party’s nomination to challenge him.

In races for State Senate and State Representative, three Republicans are hoping to win in the race for Senator Kyle McCarter’s old seat. Meanwhile there are GOP primaries for nearly every State House race in our region.

Southern Illinois’ first judicial circuit will see numerous changes, as there are six vacancies on next year’s ballot. And this is the first year for Regional School Superintendents to run in their newly consolidated districts.

Election Filings (Updated 12/4/2017)

12th Congress
    Preston Nelson (R) – Benton
    Brendan Kelly (D) – Swansea
    (I)Mike Bost (R) – Murphysboro
    David Bequette (D) – Columbia
    Charles Koen (D) – Cairo    

15th Congress    
    Kevin Gaither (D) – Charleston
    (I)John Shimkus (R) – Collinsville
    Carl Spoerer (D) – Mahomet

54th State Senate
    Benjamin Stratemeyer (R) – Centralia
    Rafael Him (R) – New Baden
    George Barber (R) – Greenville

59th State Senate
    Dale Fowler (R) – Harrisburg

107th State Representative
    Blaine Wilhour (R) – Beecher City
    Laura Myers (R) – Greenville
    David Seiler (D) – Effingham

108th State Representative
    Don Moore (R) – Troy
    (I)Charlie Meier (R) – Okawville

109th State Representative
    Darren Bailey (R) – Xenia
    (I)David Reis (R) – Willow Hill
    Cynthia Given (D) – Olney

115th State Representative
    Paul Jacobs (R) – Pomona
    Marsha Griffin (D) – Jonesboro
    (I)Terri Bryant (R) – Murphysboro
    Tamiko “TC” Mueller (D) – Murphysboro

116th State Representative
    (I)Jerry Costello II (D) – Smithton

117th State Representative
    Jason Woolard (D) – Carterville
    (I)Dave Severin (R) – Benton

118th State Representative
    (I)Natalie Phelps Finnie (D) – Elizabethtown
    Samuel Stratemeyer (R) – Metropolis
    Patrick Windhorst (R) – Metropolis

1st Circuit Judge – Smoot Vacancy (Williamson County Resident Judge)
    Ryan Hall (D) – Marion
    John Sanders (R) – Marion    

1st Circuit Judge – Clarke Vacancy (At Large Judge)
    Amanda Byassee Gott (R) – Marion
    Tyler Edmonds (D) – Anna

1st Circuit Judge – Palmer Vacancy (Williamson County Resident Judge)
    Stephen Green (R) – Marion
    David Lawler (D) – Marion
    Phillip Palmer, Jr. (D) – Marion

1st Circuit Judge – Moore Vacancy (At Large Judge)
    Jason Olson (D) – Marion
    Carey Gill (R) - Carterville

1st Circuit Judge – Jackson Vacancy (Massac County Resident Judge)
    Rick Abell (R) – Metropolis
    Joseph Neely (R) – Metropolis
    Cord Zachary Wittig (R) – Metropolis
    Paul Henry (D) – Metropolis

1st Circuit Judge – Schwartz Vacancy (Jackson County Resident Judge)
    Christy Solverson (D) – Carbondale
    Brian Roberts (D) – Murphysboro
    Steven Bost (R) – Murphysboro

5th Appellate Judge – Goldenhersh Vacancy
    Kevin Hoerner (D) – Belleville

ROE Supt – Monroe/Randolph Counties
    Kelton Davis (D) – Waterloo

ROE Supt – Clay/Crawford/Jasper/Lawrence/Richland Counties
    Monte Newlin (D) – Hutsonville

ROE Supt – Bond/Christian/Effingham/Fayette/Montgomery Counties
    Julie Wollerman (D) – Bingham

ROE Supt – Clark/Coles/Cumberland/Douglas/Edgar/Moultrie/Shelby Counties
    Michael Smith (R) – Tuscola
    Kyle Thompson (R) – Charleston

ROE Supt – Franklin/Johnson/Massac/Williamson Counties
    Lorie LeQuatte (D) – Herrin
ROE Supt – Clinton/Jefferson/Marion/Washington Counties
    Ron Daniels (R) – Belle Rive
    Brian Guthrie (D) – Carlyle    

ROE Supt – Edwards/Gallatin/Hamilton/Hardin/Pope/Saline/Wabash/Wayne/White Counties
    Elizabeth “Beth” Rister (D) – Eldorado

ROE Supt – Alexander/Jackson/Perry/Pulaski/Union Counties
    Cheryl Graff (D) – Murphysboro